Jelly Rolls ~ Sewing Beautiful Quilts Fast

I have been quilting off and on for years now,  and live in such a a rural location that I am just now learning about pre-cut Jelly Rolls !!

Jelly rolls are a set of 42 2.5″ pre-cut fabric strips.  Its a huge time saver for many quilters and with fabric already cut and coordinated you can start sewing together strips in record time.   Best of all I’m finding hundreds of patterns to use these jelly rolls for fabulous quilt tops.

A standard Jelly Roll Race quilt will usually make a finished top approximately 50×60″.   Great for a throw quilt,  or add in a border for a full size bed.  For larger quilts you will need a few per,  so be sure to work out the math so you have plenty for your project.  I almost always buy two of each so I have enough for a large size quilt and maybe some left overs I can work into another one down the road.

I’m told Jelly rolls can be fairly expensive in quilting stores ( if you have one near you,  I’m jealous ! ) but I have found beautiful rolls on Amazon at great prices,  letting me stock my crafting closet with a variety of different colors and patterns that I can assemble in a variety of ways,  making each one uniquely beautiful.   I love that everything is pre-coordinated,  saving me a ton of time in the local store digging for something that will work,  or driving to a bigger town in an attempt to find what I am looking for.

This year,  I plan on making quilts for all the kids in the family for the Holidays.   These will be a much appreciated time saver as I make my way through my list this summer and add to the Christmas pile I already have going.

Here are a few of my favorite Jelly Rolls I’m finding at the moment.

Please join our Facebook page, Quilting Space for All,  and show up your works of art !   We love seeing them.   Go To Quilting Space For All

2-1/2in Strips Roll Up Kona Solids Sunset Palette 43Pcs ~ $29.87 w/free shipping for Prime members.

Robert Kaufman RU-230-41 Roll Ups Kona Cotton Solids pastel Palette, 41Pcs ~  $27.55 w/ free shipping for Prime members.

2-1/2in Strips Roll Up Kona Cotton Solids Classic Palette 41Pcs ~ $36.30 w/free shipping for Prime members.

Moda Handmade by Bonnie and Camille Jelly Roll, 40 2.5″ Strips ~ $31.55 w/ free shipping for Prime members.

Robert Kaufman RU-190-40 Strips, 2.5-inch, White  ~ $25.00 w/free shipping for Prime members.

GRANDMA’S CALICO JELLY ROLL FOR QUILTING, 42 2.5” STRIPS, AND BONUS RETRACTABLE TAPE MEASURE ~ $35.87 w/free shipping for Prime members.

Moda French General Favorites Jelly Roll Strips 2.5 x 44 x 42 ~ $37.82 w/ free shipping for Prime members.

Zen Chic True Blue Jelly Roll 40 2.5-inch Strips Moda Fabrics 1620JR  ~ $37.54 w/ free shipping for Prime members.

Kate & Birdie Lullaby Jelly Roll 40 2.5-inch Strips Moda Fabrics 13150JR~ $27.58 w/ free shipping for Prime members.

Behind the Scenes Jelly Roll (18110JR) by Jen Kingwell for Moda ~ $28,99 w/free shipping for Prime members.

Leave a Reply

